The Seafarer: Past Productions

The Seafarer was first performed in September 2006 at London’s National Theatre, where it gained an Olivier Award nomination for Best Play.  The playwright, Conor McPherson, directed the world premiere production with the following cast:national-theatre2


Mr. Lockhart: Ron Cook

Ivan: Conleth Hill

Sharky: Karl Johnson

N icky: Michael McElhatton

Richard: Jim Norton


The play then ran on Broadway from December 2007 to March 2008 at the Booth Theatre.  It was again directed by the playwright, and was nominated for four Tony Awards including one for Best Play.  The cast wbooth-theatre2as as follows:


M r. Lockhart: Ciarán Hinds

Ivan: Conleth Hill

Sharky: David Morse

Nicky: Sean Mahon

Richard: Jim Norton


Posted by Christine Pini, Artistic Assistant


, , , ,

%d bloggers like this: